Tags

, , , , , ,

This recipe is favourite in our house, anytime I have “old” bananas sitting around this is my go to recipe. Growing up I was not a huge fan of banana bread, as I don’t particularly like bananas but over the past couple of years it has quickly become one of my favourites. Perhaps its the fact that its easy and has just the right amount of chocolate in it to curve any craving.

DSC_2983
Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

as seen on the Canadian Living website

Ingredients

2 cups (500 mL) all-purpose_flour
1/4 cup (50 mL) granulated_sugar
2 tsp (10 mL) baking_powder
1 tsp (5 mL) baking_soda
Pinch salt
1 cup (250 mL) chocolate chips
2 cups (500 mL) mashed ripe bananas
1/2 cup (125 mL) butter, melted
1/4 cup (50 mL) milk
2 eggs

Preparation

In large bowl, whisk flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt ; add chocolate chips. In separate bowl, whisk together bananas, butter, milk and eggs; pour over flour mixture and stir just until blended. Spread in greased 9- x 5-inch (2 L) loaf pan.

Bake in centre of 350°F (180°C) oven for 50 to 60 minutes or until cake tester inserted in centre comes out clean. Let cool in pan on rack for 15 minutes. Turn out onto rack; let cool completely. (Make-ahead: Wrap and store at room temperature for up to 2 days or overwrap with heavy-duty foil and freeze for up to 2 weeks.)

I follow this recipe exactly as it is with one exception, I do not mash my bananas. As I mentioned above I don’t like bananas so finding lumps of bananas in my loaf would not make me a happy camper. That being said I puree my bananas, basically making them liquid. You might think this would affect the way the loaf turns out, make it a bit heavy or even take longer to bake, but it does not. The loaf I made above took exactly 50 minutes and came out a nice golden colour and was evenly baked throughout.  My banana bread is always nice and light and moist. I actually get a few requests for it from Evans coworkers and some family members, it’s one of my go to items when I want to whip up something quick and easy. Hope you enjoy 🙂

Xo. Andria

300x125_Top30

 

